my sunday night felt like a saturday night.

Having to know and have the responsibilities to disarmed the alarm at work made my sleep uncomfortable. My body just tensed up and I did woke up with a sore back. It turned out that an office staff was already in the building before my arrival (phew, thank god for not having to do anything with the alarm. Ever to get to work on a weekend with just three of your co-workers? All I get to hear is the silent whispers from co-workers consulting with clients in the cubicles. The office was absorbed by the echoes of office equipment’s hums and gentle beeps in sleep mode (I hate the damn phone calls). Nothing like a typical busy office on a weekend. My co-workers get to see their clients while I get my work done on a desk. When it was about to go, I feel the need to do something. Do something that’s not work related. I had wanted to go to the Greenpoint Holiday Market, from the description of the event, it says it is held in a loft with view of Manhattan. It’s pretty cool to even think of what the loft have to offer, holiday goodies and window views. Sadly to say, I didn’t go and meet up with my girls.

15493949_10154163452813034_1143549307_n

 

I met up with a friend that I haven’t seen in a few weekends. He was around Chinatown and I was so surprised when he came up to my office. Great, my sunday night is about to get started. lol. We were hungry so I took him to XO Taste, so many options there to choose from. The restaurant’s walls are decorated with delicious looking food. We ordered 4 dishes and shared amongst ourselves. I didn’t think I had a lot but I was full pretty quick. I’m glad that he likes the place. Time to pay the bill, but who? I had to insist that it would be nice and fair for me to pay for the bill since he pay for my drinks almost all of the time.
.
.
.
I won the fussing-over-who-to-pay-the-bill.
.
.
.
Then he said we should get olive oil ice cream(yeah, I kinda forgot if it was olive oil or olive ice cream. I just googled it, and there is such thing as olive oil ice cream. haha). And then check out a barcade in Willamsburg, sure. By the time we stepped out of the door, it was flurries here and there. Took the train to his hood(we talked so much we almost missed our stop) and I see why he doesn’t want to stay in his room sometimes. I stood in front of his apt door waited for him to change into a heavier winter jacket. His roommate’s little girl gave me a small orange (ew, kids.) He even held her at me and I was like, uh no.
.

.

.
Change of plan.
.

.

.
We decided to hang out around his hood since he didn’t want to drive away from his parking spot. Cool. We walked into a restaurant and got…red bean ice cream and green tea mochi! It was empty, just the two two staff and us. Cute spot. We sat at a table with a wall filled with jars of sea salt, sugar, and some other seasonings. Yeah, we dared each other to put some of those on the ice cream. I put salt in it and I really tasted the opposite on my tongue. But anyways, the red bean ice cream was pretty good and uh, chewy. I was really disappointed on the bowl that the ice cream was served in. The bowl reminded me of the ones that was used at China King (ahhh, d&f plaza…) The mochis were okay. We were talking and enjoying the ice cream, and at one point he said he didn’t know I have a boyfriend. I was like, dude, I already told him when he took me to this bar with nice curtain. He didn’t remember (I’m overthinking again. I hope this doesn’t change anything more or less).

15416933_10154163454483034_549158330_n

.
.
.

15494114_10154163452788034_1167107026_n
The bathroom was pretty cool. First, I almost walked into the Japanese curtains which I thought it was the entry to the bathroom. It was the kitchen that I almost walked into, the bathroom was next to it. You had to slide the door, lock it and use the bathroom. When I turned around, I see a really bright projected beam of words from the ceiling to the white tile floors. I didn’t really get the concept of the layout, but it do stand out. Check this out, a sink with wall made up of mah jongs. I have never seen anything like this!

.
.
.

15435810_10154163452633034_1697424950_n
Off we hit the cold again! Then we headed to a pool hall. It’s been awhile since the last time I went to a pool hall. Oh wait, I did went with Carmen and her friend! We picked the last table on the left all the way in the back. We passed by other people just enjoying the game. They careless who walked by their tables. The game was fun, I mean what’s fun than to have my friend lose to me? Yup, he socked the 8 ball. Man, I was done with my corona. I was really enjoying my night. I’m having a lot of fun.
.
.
.
We missed our bus, so we walked to 100fun. Omg, look at what I saw on the street! ROASTED CHESTNUT 🌰. I hope I didn’t weird my friend out when I told him that I wanted a pic of the chestnut stand. The chestnut is so small! My friend laughed at the way I gave him the chestnut as if he was a squirrel.
.
.
.

15497572_10154163452418034_505860938_n
I didn’t get to see that bouncy at the door. I wechat him and he said he was going in later. It was really empty and he had never been to 100fun. We took our chances, decided to stay for one hour and the servers took us to the Hello Kitty room. My first song was, love you more each day by Jacky Cheung. I hope I didn’t hogged the mic, I told him to pick some songs. I really do want to practice singing my Chinese songs. He was laying on the seats, I hope he’s comfortable. Or maybe he was tired. I asked if he was comfortable with the seats or that he was comfortable around me. He said both. I like friends who are comfortable around me (that means they like me as their friend, right? like a cool friend, right?).
.
.
.
I really had a lot of fun, time went by slow. I didn’t wanted to go home. Uber was expensive and he was nice to give me a free swipe to the train station. You ever get this feeling of joy and relaxed just by hanging out with friends? No stress. Just go with the flow? Yeah, and it happened on a sunday night. My overwhelming thoughts clouded my mind again. I called my other guy friend and just talked to him. Thank you for listening to me. I just hope it won’t happen again.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

